Friday, March 27, 2026

Wrestle Kingdom 7

Legacy Review

Wrestle Kingdom 7

January 4, 2013 from the Tokyo Dome
 
This year's Wrestle Kingdom marks further important steps on the road toward New Japan's ever closer second golden age and international explosion. First, it's the first WK to ever be available live in the US on what was then called iPPV (internet PPV). Still no English commentary to go along with the availability just yet though. Also, after several years of one off main events, this is the first WK since WK 2 to be main evented by one of the defining matchups and feuds of the age. This is also the year the company finally started to become less reliant on cross-promotional battles to carry the show. They'll still be present, but not as high profile or prevalent as the first six WKs.
 
As usual this is from the New Japan World archives so Japanese commentary only. As of this writing no alternate English commentary has been recoreded for any of this show's matches yet. 
 
Preshow: Captain New Japan, Tama Tonga & Wataru Inoue def YOSHI-HASHI, Tomohiro Ishii & Jado (CHAOS) in 5:58- Second straight year Tama's been stuck teaming with Capt. New Japan in a preshow tag match. Worse draw than Liger in the WCW Lethal Lotteries he was in. Actually no, Liger still had it worse. Cap has ditched his little bottlecap shield. Instead he has a tiny little cape now. Tama has a belt with him on his entrance. Hold on a minute....ah, he was half of the CMLL World tag champs here. He's still wearing the Snuka tights but he's finally got boots on and is generally acting more Tama Tonga-ish like we'll soon be getting used to. Inoue and Jado start. Inoue breaks clean on the ropes. Jado does not. He supplies his own "WOOOOO"s while chopping Inoue in the corner. Inoue kicks back and hangs Jado in the tree of woe, then hits a corner dropkick. Ishii comes in and gets suplexed. Corner running forearm on Jado and he does a full on Flair Flop out of the corner. I certainly appreciate the references to THE greatest of all time. HASHI comes in and jumps Inoue from behind, then officially tags himself in. It's a bit weird for me to see HASHI heel it up so blatantly like this. Ishii comes in and hits some chops. Still going to be years before he finally starts to get appreciated for how good he is. Inoue fires off some forearms that Ishii easily absorbs. Suplex from Ishii for 2. The heel quick tagging and triple teaming on Inoue continues. Finally he dodges Jado, gives HASHI a backbreaker and tags out to Tama. Tama comes in with a Snuka-like crossbody off the top on both Jado and HASHI. He does some fancy leaping over Ishii and hits the Snuka style chop. He leaps over Jado and HASHI trying to double lariato him and gives them both a dropkick. Stinger Splash on Jado. Jado fights off a move and hits a swinging neckbreaker. The heels blatantly triple team again. Useless New Japan refs. Jado Russian leg sweep on Tama and HASHI hits a running neck snap for 2. It goes full on DONNYBROOK as everyone else fights on the floor with Jado and Tama in the ring. The faces win the battle and start to give Jado some triple team pummeling back. Tama hits a double underhook DDT, and that gets the pin. Capt. NJ never tagged in the match. Probably for the best. *3/4
 
Preshow: KUSHIDA, Bushi & Ryusuke Taguchi def Jushin Thunder Liger, Tiger Mask & Hiromu Takahashi in 7:12- KUSHIDA is currently one half of the junior tag champs with Alex Shelley as Time Splitters. Why they couldn't find a spot on the main card for a defense of those titles is beyond me, especially with how the junior tag division is about to explode with insane talent all over the place. Bushi is making his Dome debut with New Japan. He's currently on a unique one year "rental" deal from All Japan. Future junior division ace Takahashi is also making his Dome debut as a Young Lion. He'd head off on his excursion later in the year and return in late 2016 as a new member of LIJ, which Bushi will be a founding member of. Fired up Young Lion Takahashi tells his Dads he wants to start. It's so weird seeing Hiromu looking so....normal. KUSHIDA starts with him. They start out with a nice basic grappling exchange and stalemate. Another very extended amateur style sequence. KUSHIDA manages to work Takahashi into a hammerlock and arm wringer. Takahashi does a nice escape into his own hammerlock. KUSHIDA reverses into a headlock takedown. Takahashi escapes and reset. Liger and Bushi tag in. Bushi looks freaking tiny compared to how he'll be later. Or maybe it's because he's actually not wrestling with a shirt on. Big shoulderblock from the larger Liger and he hits some chops. Bushi floats over in the corner and gets a flying headscissors that sends Liger to the floor. Bushi teases a dive but stops and takes his top layer mask off and tosses it into the crowd. Now TM and Taguchi tag in. Another nice high tempo basic sequence. Taguchi gets a couple of armdrags. TM hits a tiltawhirl backbreaker. Liger hits an early Ligerbomb and hooks Taguchi up in the surfboard. Takahashi hits a couple of running forearms for 2. TM hits a leaping back kick and puts Taguchi in Young Lion hold 1A, the Boston crab. KUSHIDA runs in to break it up. Taguchi comes back with a shotgun dropkick on TM, but Liger is right there to put him down again. Springboard back elbow from Taguchi and he gets a tag to Bushi. Takahashi hits him with a flying headscissors. Full on triple team as Liger hits a corner shotei into a TM double underhook powerbomb. Takahashi hits a perfectplex to try to finish it but Bushi's teammates break it up. KUSHIDA blindsides Takahashi with a springboard chop off the top rope, then subtly helps the kid get in position to take a standing moonsault. Bushi covers and Liger barely breaks the pin up. KUSHIDA and Taguchi hit stereo planchas as Bushi sets Takahashi up in the ring. 450 splash! That gets the pin. Solid stuff there. **3/4
 
I think posting this on the last review will be the start of a new tradition, as long as they're still cut off the NJPW World archive copy. Here's the WK 7 opening VTR to get you all fired up:
 
 
Manabu Nakanishi, MVP, Strong Man & Akebono def Toru Yano, Takashi Iizuka, Yujiro Takahashi & Bob Sapp (CHAOS) in 7:53- This is what we get instead of a junior tag title match, a pretty typical "get everyone not on the card a match" multi-man tag with a special attraction on both sides. On one side is Akebono, a former sumo who made occasional wrestling appearances. The other is Sapp, a kickboxer and MMA fighter who also made occasional wrestling appearances, and even held the IWGP Heavyweight Championship for a couple of months during the infamous Inokism period because Inoki loved his shoot fighters. The fight starts on the entrance ramp when the CHAOS team jumps the faces during their entrance. There's someone doing commentary for this on a headset that's being broadcast on the stadium speakers. That's different. Everyone slowly brawls their way up to and into the ring, at least some of them. The headset commentary guy takes it off and joins regular commentary. It looks like he's got a beef with the CHAOS team but I can't place who he is. One of New Japan's regular commentators I think. Oh well. Meanwhile Strong Man slams Yano, then slams Yujiro on top of him. MVP hits the Ballin' elbow on them both. He's learned how to say "ballin'" in Japanese since the last WK. Sapp literally takes his own teammates out while going after MVP and Strong Man. Akebono tags himself in and we have a big meat on meat staredown. Akebono has as many ads on his gear as a '90s era NASCAR car. He's about as large too. They shove each other. Shoudlerblocks that neither guy goes down on. Akebono hits a lariato that barely fazes Sapp. Double lariato and Sapp gets wobbled. Akebono pushes him into the corner and squashes him. Nakanishi tags in and the face team all run Sapp over in the corner, then all hype up Nakanishi hitting a lariato. He gets Sapp up in the torture rack! Yano comes in and hits him with the red chair to break it up. Sapp tags out to wild man Iizuka. Things quickly go out to the floor. Iizuka appropriates a chair from under someone at the long commentary table and hits Nakanishi with it. Yano's also removed the corner pad from the CHAOS corner. Nakanishi gets whipped into it. He tries to come back on Yujiro with chops so Yujiro, ever the cheapest of cheap wrestlers, goes right to the ol' eye rake. Yano gives Nakanishi another whip into the exposed steel. Iizuka and Yano get their chairs and choke Nakanishi with them! Nakanishi starts to fire back again on Iizuka. He blocks an Iizuka whip and lariatos him. The CHAOS team jump him before he can tag. Nakanishi double suplexes Yano and Yujiro! EVERYONE IN THE POOL! Akebono and Sapp find each other again. The rest of the CHAOS team get stacked in the corner and Sapp is whipped into all of them, then all four squashed in the corner. Nakanishi German suplex on Iizuka. Big splash from Akebono. Nakanishi gets Iizuka up in the rack and Iizuka submits. After the bell the commentary guy gets to give Iizuka a weak ass lariato. If not for the fact Akebono and Sapp were high profile special attractions (despite the fact they brought nothing of value in the ring) this should have been consigned to the preshow. *
 
In the fall of 2012 New Japan created their second new secondary title in two years, the NEVER Openweight Championship. NEVER actually started as a series of New Japan promoted standalone events designed to showcase younger and out of company talent, and this title as originally conceived was going to be the championship for that "division". But around the same time the whole idea of the NEVER shows fell apart. Instead this title would eventually take on the identity of the "BMF" title. I think Kevin Kelley coined the phrase BMF and I honestly don't remember exactly what it stands for, but I've always read it as "bad motherfucker", which is exactly what this title has been for most of its history, the title for guys that liked to work stiff and hit hard. Not always, but most of the time. A two night, 16 man tournament was held in November to crown the inaugural champion, a tournament that featured an even mix of home New Japan talent and wrestlers from outside companies. The winner was Masato Tanaka, who earlier had only missed being the inaugural IWGP Intercontinental Champion by one guy.
 
NEVER Openweight Championship: Masato Tanaka (c) (w/Yujiro Takahashi) def Shelton Benjamin in 6:41- Former WWE star Benjamin made his New Japan debut at WK 6, making this his first singles match in the Dome. Tanaka's not in CHAOS, but Yujiro is cornering him because they used to be together in a faction called Complete Players. Tiger Hattori is in early to ref so he can facilitate communication between Japanese and English speakers. Lockup into standing switches. Benjamin gets a fireman's carry takedown into a headlock. Shoulderblock and quick cover from Benjamin. Northern lights suplex for another 1 count. Tanaka tries a monkey flip but Benjamin lands on his feet! Release German suplex! Tanaka goes to the floor to rethink after that, then gets out of the drop zone when Benjamin sets up a dive. But Benjamin doesn't give up, waits for Tanaka to get in position on a different side and hits a tope con hilo! Took Yujiro out with that too so it ended up working out better. Back in Benjamin covers for 2. Tanaka dodges a Stinger splash and hits a running corner forearm. Forearms and chops from Tanaka. Snap mare into a chinlock. Knee to Benjamin's back. Long midring suplex fight that Tanaka eventually wins. They have a short open hand chop exchange. Tanaka hits a couple of corner lariatos. After Benjamin reverses another corner whip Tanaka pops back out with a lariato. Benjamin ducks a sliding lariato and hits a Booker T style side kick. The Stinger splash hits. Twice. Backdrop from Benjamin and he goes up top. Blockbuster! Cover for 2. Superkick from Benjamin for 2. Yujiro trips Benjamin from the floor and holds him on the apron. Benjamin dodges, Tanaka takes Yujiro out, and Benjamin gets a roll up for 2. Off the kickout Benjamin ends up in the ropes and Yujiro hits him with a kendo stick. Roll up from Tanaka for 2. He grabs Benjamin and goes up top. Benjamin blocks the tornado DDT. Ankle lock! Or ankle hold, per commentary. Behind him Yujiro goes up top. Benjamin springs up and slams him off Kurt Angle style. But that lets Tanaka hit the sliding elbow to get the pin. It started out promising but they didn't get near enough time. That felt like a condensed version of a potentially much better match. Too much Yujiro too. Though any Yujiro is too much Yujiro. **1/4
 
Tanaka's inaugural title reign would end up lasting 314 days, easily the longest in the title's history. On the first reign. Only two since then have even crossed 200 days. Very few NEVER Openweight champs make it past the first or second defense. This is also Tanaka's last WK match. After dropping the title he left and moved to ZERO1 full time. On the other side, later in the year Benjamin would turn heel and join Suzuki-Gun, changing his name at the same time to Shelton X Benjamin.
 
IGWP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship: Killer Elite Squad (c) (w/Taka Michinoku) (Suzuki-Gun) def Hirooki Goto & Karl Anderson in 10:52- Anderson's Bad Intentions partner Giant Bernard returned to WWE in 2012 as Lord Tensai, so later in the year he formed a new team with Goto and they won the '12 edition of World Tag League to get this title shot. Anderson also won his block and made the final in the '12 G1 Climax, a sign of how high New Japan thought of him at the time. I've certainly thought he was underrated for much of his career. KES formed in the summer of '12 when Davey Boy Smith Jr (son of the British Bulldog who had wrestled as Harry Smith in WWE) made his New Japan debut and joined Suzuki-Gun, who then paired him up with Lance Archer. They defeated Tencozy for the titles at King of Pro Wrestling in October. Archer makes his entrance on a motorcycle through the outfield wall. Not THROUGH the wall. There's a door. #1 hype man Michinoku does his usual hyping up on the mic after their entrance, and his "Let's get crazy!" is KES's signal to attack before the bell. Anderson tries some uppercuts on Archer that do absolutely nothing. Archer grabs him by the throat and throws him over the top rope and out. He pounds Anderson down a bit more on the floor while DBS chokes Goto in the ring. Archer tags in and Goto tries some chops that are again no sold. Huge Archer clubbing blow to Goto's back. He knucklelocks Goto and walks the top rope to hit his version of Taker's old school. Goto gets a boot up and dodges in the corner to finally stagger the monster a bit. He tries to tag out but DBS pulls Anderson off the apron from behind. That lets KES hit some double teams. Goto fights off a DBS backdropeh suplex attempt, then they get in a regular suplex leverage fight won by Goto. Tag to Anderson. Chops and uppercuts on DBS. DBS tries to shrug them off but Anderson hits a leg lariat. He dodges a DBS running kick in the corner and hits an enzuguri. DBS dodges a senton and hits a tiger suplex for 2. Archer plants Anderson with a chokeslam for a long 2. He goes for his old school again but Anderson knocks him off the rope, then Gun Stuns DBS over the top rope. He gets on the top rope and tries to drag Archer up, but Archer hits some more stiff clubbing blows and climbs up with Anderson. Long series of headbutts from Archer. Anderson absorbs them, hits a couple of forearms, and lifts Archer up in a fireman's carry on the ropes! Avalanche spinning Gun Stun! Archer still kicks out! Tags on both sides. Goto and DBS charge into each other with a double lariato that drops no one. Another one. Big boot from DBS. One more lariato from Goto that puts DBS down. Archer tries to get involved and gets discus lariatoed down. Corner leg lariat from Goto and he backdropeh suplexes DBS for 2. DBS fights off a German attempt. Anderson comes in and the champs hit a double team neckbreaker. Anderson hits the senton this time. Goto also hits the German this time for 2. Another suplex fight. Archer gets back in and Goto fights off a double team, but Archer plants him with a full nelson bomb AKA Bubba Bomb. Archer gets Anderson up and hits Blackout on him. Goto comes in and kind of hits shoten on Archer. It looked like it was partially blocked though I don't think it was supposed to. DBS hits a sit out powerbomb on Goto, but doesn't even try for a pin. Anderson Gun Stun outta nowhere on DBS! DBS dodges a Goto running kick, then Goto fights off another powerbomb. DBS hooks Goto's arms to try to turn him around. Goto fights and reverses it. Archer full nelsons Goto and KES hit the Killer Bomb. Anderson just breaks the pin up! Killer Bomb on Anderson. Goto tries to fight, but KES plant him with one last Killer Bomb and that gets the pin to retain. Good stuff, but the titles never really felt in jeopardy. ***1/4
 
Yuji Nagata def Minoru Suzuki (w/Taichi) (Suzuki-Gun) in 17:03- This is the conclusion of the Wrestle Kingdom trilogy between two of the greatest forever rivals Japan has ever seen, and the only one to take place with Suzuki a full time member of the New Japan roster. Two of my all time favorites from Japan too, I'd call them second tier right below the Shinsuke Nakamura and Tetsuya Naito tippy top level. Suzuki successfully defended the All Japan Triple Crown Championship against Nagata at WK 1, then Nagata got a win back at WK 5. Suzuki gets a WK special entrance with a LIVE performance of Kaze Ni Nare by Ayumi Nakamura herself. Hell freaking yes. This is at the level of Lemmy and Motorhead playing Triple H's music live at Wrestlemania, except Nakamura actually remembers the lyrics. The bell rings and, as expected, they lay right into each other with a rough face and eye gouging lockup. Suzuki gets the first shots, hitting some forearms, and letting Nagata know about it, getting a laugh from the crowd. Nagata fires back with some shots. They trade snap mare/PK combos. Suzuki goes for an arrogant one foot cover just to annoy Nagata, who gets back up before even 1. Electric staredown and here comes the first full on forearm exchange. Big boot tradeoff. A running big boot from Nagata puts Suzuki down. He uses his position on the apron to try for the draping armbar but Nagata blocks it and snaps Suzuki's arm over the top rope. On the floor Nagata hits some kicks to that arm, then snaps it again. Taichi distracts Nagata, allowing Suzuki to hit him with a running big boot. Guardrail shot for Nagata and Suzuki kicks him over onto the endless announce table. Taichi sneaks behind and hits Nagata with a chair, fighting off the Young Lion attendant contingent while doing so. If there's one lesson Suzuki could impart, it was how to murder Young Lions. Suzuki gets the chair and gives Nagata a shot with it, then hits a kneelift to the jaw. Ref Marty Asami seems to be kicking Taichi out, finally doing something useful for once in his life, but that only allows Suzuki to choke Nagata with the chair. Damage done, Suzuki gets back in the ring and taunts the crowd. Nagata's so mad he only takes up to about 12 to get back in. When he does he starts laying in some more strikes. Suzuki grabs Nagata's hair to hit a headbutt, then hooks on a legbar. Taichi, who was not kicked out after all (bloody useless Asami), tries to keep Nagata from getting to the ropes but he still does. Suzuki hooks on a guillotine. Nagata flat powers out and hits an exploder suplex! He lays in some chest kicks and hits a running kick in the corner. He goes for another exploder, but Suzuki blocks it and puts the guillotine back on! Nagata gets free, hits a knee to the gut and a belly to belly suplex. He hooks on a crossface. Suzuki takes advantage of Nagata sitting to grab a reverse ankle lock to get free. Nagata kicks free of that. Snap mare and running PK from Suzuki. He bends down to grab Nagata but Nagata sits up Undertaker style! Another running PK. Another sit up! Suzuki gets the crowd behind him for one more kick. He switches gears a bit and hits a diving kick right to Nagata's jaw and covers for 2. Nagata comes back up with some more forearms. Suzuki hits a dropkick. When Nagata gets up he hits an open hand slap. Oh shit, here we go. Suzuki responds by paintbrushing Nagata across the face again and again, then when Nagata starts to go down Suzuki pulls him up for more! This is a pummeling. Eventually Nagata goes completely down. Suzuki hooks on the sleeper. Nagata flips free. Suzuki slides around to put it on again. Nagata tries to back him into the corner, then flips him over again but none of it works to get free. Suzuki keeps changing grips to keep Nagata down. Nagata tries to get back up, then seems to go out on his feet. Arm drop, Nagata tries to fire back up, then goes limp again. He seems completely out but for some reason Asami won't call it. Suzuki makes his usual mistake, letting go of the sleeper when it's about to win to go for the Gotch style piledriver. Nagata fights it. Suzuki knees him in the jaw and goes for it again. Nagata just barely fights it off and backdrops free. Corner running knee! He grabs Suzuki's arm that he worked on earlier and snaps it again. Nagata Lock! Taichi gets on the apron and takes a big boot. Suzuki is back up. Nagata goes for the arm again. Suzuki slaps him! Now we get the full on open hand stiff as hell slap exchange. Once he's had enough Nagata flips the script with a kick to Suzuki's bad arm. And it's hurting Suzuki bad. Suzuki keeps slapping but Nagata keeps pummeling the arm with kicks. Another arm snap. Nagata Lock! The eyes roll back! Nagata drags Suzuki back into the middle of the ring. Suzuki crawls again and barely gets a boot on the rope. Nagata tries for a backdropeh but Suzuki runs over and wraps up in the ropes. Another arm snap. Suzuki slides under and tries for the sleeper again. Nagata quickly gets free and nails Suzuki with a slap that really staggers him. Backdropeh! That gets the pin! Nagata wins the WK series 2-1. Once again, you can never go wrong with these two. Overall it was better than their WK 5 match, but not as good as the WK 1 match. This would also turn out to be Nagata's final singles match at WK as he'd slowly start moving toward New Japan Dad status. ****
 
Three Way Match for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship: Prince Devitt (c) def Kota Ibushi and Low Ki in 14:45- All three of these guys held the junior title at points in 2012, with Devitt taking it from Ki most recently at King of Pro Wrestling. That was Devitt's third junior title win, and this reign would end up lasting 419 days, the second longest ever, fully solidifying him as the junior ace of the era. The junior division is actually going to go through several aces in the next decade. Interestingly none of these guys won Best of the Super Juniors in '12. That was Taguchi, who got stuck on the preshow. This is the match where Ki for some weird reason decided to wrestle the entire match in a suit as a protest for New Japan forcing him to work shows in Fukishima that he didn't want to. As a result of that this is his last New Japan match, the company blackballed him for life over the suit they were so upset with it. I'm no expert because I've never played those games, but the suit looks like a Hitman reference to me. After the bell Ki puts Ibushi down with a shot to the gut, then gets into a long speed run with Devitt that ends with a Ki shoulderblock. Ibushi then absolutely runs Ki over with a shoulderblock. Ibushi moonsaults over Devitt in the corner, everyone ducks and dodges, and stalemate reset. Ibushi hits a chest kick on Ki, then he and Devitt decide to team up on him. Maybe they hate the suit too. Ki goes to the floor and Devitt and Ibushi focus on each other. Quick handshake since they're both faces and off they go. On a speed run Ibushi tries the drop down trip but Devitt uses that to basement dropkick him! That sends Ibushi to the floor. Ki gets back in and tackles Devitt. Commentary says "Hitman", I think confirming my theory on the suit's inspiration. Ibushi cuts Ki off with a flying headscissors that sends him to the floor, then kicks Devitt down. Golden Triangle moonsault on Ki! Ibushi hits some rapid fire strikes on Devitt and covers for 1. Devitt fights out of a chinlock but Ibushi hits him with a back elbow for another 1. Devitt counters a backdrop and hits some chops. Funky dodges in the corner and Devitt hits a kick from the apron. Ki gets up and knocks Devitt off the apron, then gets in the ring with Ibushi. Headbutts from Ki. Very Keiji Mutoh like snap mare/elbow drop combo. Bold with Mutoh not only on the card, but in the next match. No more bold than the suit I guess. Ibushi and Ki start swinging forearms at each other. Ki catches Ibushi with a kick to the back of the head for 2. Devitt is back in. Ki flippy kicks him out of the corner for 2. Cobra twist from Ki on Devitt. Off a whip Devitt tries a sunset flip, then dodges Ki's stomp counter. Ibushi blindsides Ki with a springboard missile dropkick! Ki goes back to the floor, nearly taking out a cameraman. Shotgun dropkick from Devitt on Ibushi that sends him out. Devitt tope con hilo onto both guys! He rolls both Ibushi and Ki back in the ring. After countering Ki some Devitt hits corner lariatos on both guys, followed by corner dropkicks. Devitt goes up top. Double stomp on Ibushi for 2. Spinning enzuguri on Ki. Devitt tries to hit Bloody Sunday but Ki fights out. Devitt ducks an Ibushi lariato and hits a pele kick. Ki hits Devitt with a rolling kick. Ki goes for the Ki Crusher on Ibushi. Ibushi quickly gets to the ropes to break it up, then dropkicks Ki back to the floor. Ibushi's turn for a big dive. A corkscrew asai moonsault from the TOP rope! Amazing. Ibushi takes Ki up the ramp and goes for a powerbomb. Ki fights free. Ibushi gives him a pele kick on the ramp. He sees Devitt is back in the ring and joins him. Ibushi goes up top, goes for a moonsault, sees Devitt dodging, lands on his feet and instantly fires off a standing moonsault that hits for 2! Ibushi tries for a decapitation kick. Devitt ducks. Ibushi ducks a Devitt kick and lands another kick attempt to Devitt's head. Half dragon suplex for 2 from Ibushi. Last Ride sit out powerbomb! Ki barely breaks the pin up! Now Devitt goes to the floor as Ki pummels Ibushi in the ring. Ibushi ducks under and tries a German suplex. Ki rolls through it, lands on his feet, and hits a double stomp for 2! The jacket is off! Shit's serious now. Ki Crusher! Devitt breaks up the pin with a top rope double stomp! He covers Ki for a LONG 2! Devitt sets Ki up top. Ki fights him off into a tree of woe. Ibushi cuts off a double stomp with a springboard hurricanrana! Cover on Ki for another long 2. Ibushi sets Ki up and goes up top. He goes for a Phoenix Splash. Ki dodges, but Ibushi sees and lands on his feet again, but is wobblelegged. Devitt double stop off the top to Ibushi's back! Ki running shotgun dropkicks Devitt into the corner and cradles him for 2. Ki sets Devitt on the top rope. Ibushi rolling kicks Ki back down to the floor. He gets up top with Devitt. Devitt grabs Ibushi and hits an avalanche Bloody Sunday! That gets the pin to retain. Fantastic three way stuff with all the added junior flippydo. On the strength of this match New Japan has never been afraid since to occasionally do a three or even four way match for the junior title at WK. ****1/4
 
A few months later in the spring, another major signpost on the road to New Japan's red hot run took place. At Invasion Attack in April, Devitt turned on his longtime Apollo 55 partner Taguchi after an unsuccessful junior tag title challenge to turn heel, and soon after formed a new all-foreigner heel stable with Karl Anderson, Tama Tonga and Bad Luck Fale. The name of that stable? Bullet Club. By the end of the year they were joined by Doc Gallows (formerly Luke Gallows in WWE) and, perhaps most importantly, a young and brash tag team that had started making their name in PWG and ROH (and to a much lesser extent TNA) the last few years and were making their debut in Japan- the Young Bucks.
 
Tencozy def Keiji Mutoh & Shinjiro Otani (w/Daichi Hashimoto) in 15:36- This match was supposed to be Daichi Hashimoto, son of Shinya Hashimoto, teaming with Mutoh and making his New Japan debut. Unfortunately, he broke his arm right before this show and would end up never wrestling a match in the company his father became a dominant legend in before being weirdly pushed out. Otani, another longtime New Japan star who later co-founded Pro Wrestling ZERO1 with Hashimoto the elder when he was pushed out of New Japan, is taking his place. Mutoh is still representing All Japan, though he would soon be moving on himself. More on that in a bit. I'm 90% sure New Japan brought back their old ring announcer for this match, and he does the old style in-ring intros. Mutoh and Kojima start with some slow feeling out. Kojima gets a waist takedown that leads to some mat grappling that Mutoh wins. For some reason Kojima grabbing at Mutoh's bald head with his full palm makes me laugh. Another takedown and again Mutoh is pretty clearly superior on the mat. Both sides swap. Tenzan and Otani opt for a straight lockup. On the rope break Otani says screw it and hits an open hand chop. That leads to a big chop exchange. Otani definitely still has some serious pop on his chops. He tries coming off the ropes but runs into a Tenzan lariato. Kojima knocks Mutoh off the apron so Tencozy can hit some double team shots. Tenzan hits some chops in the corner that only seem to annoy Otani. He shoves Tenzan out and pretty much says "Hit me harder you pillock!". I'm roughly translating. Tezan swings more chops that Otani literally walks into. He refuses to go down. Tenzan hits Mongolian chops, but then runs into an Otani enzuguri. Classic snap mare/elbow drop combo from Mutoh (that's how you do it, Low Ki). He shouts out his forever rival Masahiro Chono with an STF. Kojima comes in to break it up. Otani heels it up by face gouging and choking Tenzan in the corner. Mutoh hits a dragon screw and puts on the figure four. Otani goes over to keep Kojima occupied while it's on. Kojima whips him into the barricade, rolls back in and breaks the figure four up. Leg lariat from Tenzan and tag to Kojima. Machine gun chops on Mutoh. I love how Mutoh is selling it. Running corner forearm and elbow off the top rope for 2. Discus elbow and DDT from Kojima. Mutoh slides under a lariato, hits a dropkick and tags. Otani gets Kojima down in the corner and gives hiim the good old boot wash. Running corner kick. Otani hooks Kojima up but Kojima quickly reverses it and hits a brain buster! He goes for the Cozy Lariato. Otani blocks it and knocks Kojima down with a sweep kick. Mutoh comes in with a shining wizardo! Tenzan runs in and takes a dragon screw as we go EVERYONE IN THE POOL. Figure four on Tenzan, and at the same time Otani has a crossface chicken wing on Kojima. Neither can get a submission. Kojicutter on Otani! Tenzan tags in and runs Otani over with a shoulderblock. More Mongolian chops. The top rope kneedrop hits for 2. Tencozy double team some more. Kojima hits a sit out spinebuster and Tenzan follows up with the headbutt off the top rope. Mutoh tries to get involved and gets tossed out again. Otani breaks out the old Hashimoto chop on both Tencozy guys! Channeling his spirit. Mutoh corner high knee on Tenzan and he dragon screws him back out. Shining wizardo! Another one to the back! Otani goes up and hits a missile dropkick. Mutoh sets up and hits one last shining wizardo. Otani goes to finish it with the spinning powerbomb. Kojima just barely breaks the pin up! Cozy Lariato on Mutoh! Otani puts Kojima back down with a running kick. Tencozy 3D on Otani! Kojima tears the elbow pad off! Cozy Lariato on Otani. Tenzan setup slam, up top, moonsault, and it's over. Four legends playing the hits and keeping the crowd happy, nothing wrong with it. ***
 
Back to Mutoh. Not to get too deep into it, but during his time in All Japan Mutoh took an ownership stake in the company and was even the company's president for a time, even as an active wrestler. He voluntarily resigned the presidency after a serious backstage incident involving an assault in 2011. He sold back his ownership stake in the company not long after that too. After this show in the summer of '13, Mutoh came into disagreements with the new owners of All Japan and left the company. A couple of weeks later he announced the formation of a brand new promotion: WRESTLE-1. As he did when he left New Japan for All Japan, he took quite a few of All Japan's existing talent with him. One thing WRESTLE-1 did was fill the Japanese TNA/Impact partner hole, taking that over after New Japan abandoned TNA over how they treaded Okada on his excursion. WRESTLE-1 had moderate success, but at the start of 2020 were already in financial trouble and couldn't survive the pandemic shutdown. They held their final show, with no crowd, in April '20. After that Mutoh moved to Pro Wrestling NOAH for the final years of his career.
 
Togi Makabe def Katsuyori Shibata in 8:37- Shibata returned to New Japan in August '12 after several years away focusing on his MMA career while wrestling occasional matches in the indys. He returned alongside Kazushi Sakauraba, who'll be coming up next. But while Sakauraba was presented entirely as an outsider, for Shibata, one of the New Three Musketeers along with Nakamura and Tanahashi, it was more of a homecoming. As soon as Makabe steps in the ring we're swinging forearms. Shibata ducks under and gets a double leg takedown, then lays into Makabe with headbutts. Makabe reverses and hits his own headbutts. They roll right out of the ring and keep fighting on the floor. Both guys take guardrail shots. They have a short discussion and come to a mutual agreement to continue in the ring. Right back to the back and forth forearm shivers. Shibata hits some chest kicks that put Makabe in the corner. More forearms in the corner and Asami gets tossed aside so Shibata can continue with them. That gets some boos from the crowd. Running corner dropckick in the corner from Shibata. Snap mare/PK combo. He gives Makabe some mocking kicks, wanting him to get back up. Knees put Makabe down in the corner again. Shibata tries a headlock, but that lets Makabe hit a backdropeh! Shibata pops right back up and hits a German! Makabe pops back up with a lariato! Rebound kick off the ropes from Shibata and both guys are down. More kicks from Shibata trying to get Makabe to fight back. Makabe can't muster anything. Shibata sets up behind and puts on a sleeper. Makabe goes down, but at two arm drops Shibata lets go. He sets up for a PK but Makabe collapses in a heap. Shibata goes again and Makabe blocks it! Lariato! Shibata goes to the apron and Makabe kills him with a lariato there. A shot in the back of Shibata's head sends him head first into the post. Makabe goes over and gets one of the tables from ringside. He runs it right into Shibata! Makabe sets the table up on the ramp. Shibata gets powerbombed through the table! Makabe doesn't want the countout win and drags Shibata back in. German, but it only gets 1. Shibata absorbs a lariato. And another. One to the back of the head staggers Shibata. Shibata blocks another and gets the sleeper back on! Makabe fights free and decapitates him with another lariato. The King Kong Kneedrop hits and it's over. Well, it's as crazy stiff and intense as you'd expect, but awful short (which kind of makes sense considering how hard they were going at each other) and I strongly question if the right guy won. ***1/2
 
The new IWGP Intercontinental Championship appeared at WK 6, but in a tag match rather than a defense, so allow me to go into a bit more detail on its creation now since this is its first WK defense. In May 2011 New Japan held their first ever shows in the United States. A tour of three shows in fact, held in Rahway, NJ, New York City, and Philadelphia. The backbone of the tour was an 8 man tournament to crown the inaugural winner of New Japan's first attempt at a secondary title in 5 years, the IC title. Name taken straight from WWE's longtime #2 title. Former WWE star MVP won the tournament, defeating Yano in the final. The most recent title change was in July '12, when Nakamura defeated Goto for his first IC title win. For the rest of his time in New Japan before leaving for WWE Nakamura would be the dominant IC champ, willingly passing up potential additional reigns with the Heavyweight title in order to elevate the IWGP IC title to world title level. The evidence it's working is already here, as tonight's show has been billed as a Double Main Event.
 
IWGP Intercontinental Championship: Shinsuke Nakamura (c) (CHAOS) def Kazushi Sakuraba in 11:12- As I mentioned, Sakuraba returned New Japan alongside Shibata. His background was almost fully in MMA, in fact he could rightly be called a legend in the sport, though he did wrestle some in the second half of the '90s, including in New Japan back when Inoki was still in charge. Nakamura also did some MMA at the same time he was starting wrestling, which heavily influenced his wrestling style, making this a smart matchup stylistically. I'm pretty certain that's Stan Hansen in the ring with them doing the belt presentation. Random, but good to see him. Sakuraba offers a Code of Honor handshake before the bell and Nakamura takes it clean. Typical early match cautious knucklelock grabbing and exploratory kicks, with Nakamura doing that little dancing around as only he can. Nakamura grabs an arm and Sakuraba backs into a rope break. Nakamura struts away. More caudious jockeying, until Nakamura suddenly dives for a waistlock or leg takedown. Sakuraba dodges it and we get another break. After the reset Sakuraba gets a leg takedown and they both fight for position on the mat. Nakamura uses his leg flexibility to try to wrap Sakuraba up but he senses it and escapes. It looks like he's trying to leverage Nakamura into a pin. He manages to get around to put a facelock on Nakamura, then hits a knee to the gut for the first real strike. In the ropes and another break. This time Asami has to force it. Nakamura slides out to the floor less to regourp and more to mess with Sakauraba's head. Back to cautious jockeying with both looking for an opening to land a big strike. Nakamura backs Sakuraba into the corner and we get another forced break. Nakamura slaps Sakuraba while breaking! That's going to crank things up. Sakuraba unloads with open hand strikes and Nakamura responds! He grabs a Nakamura kick attempt and gets another takedown. He lands some kicks on Nakamura's leg. Double stomp onto Nakamura's forehead! Sakuraba grabs a sleeper! Nakamura quicky backs him into the corner for a break. As soon as he has an opening Nakamura LAYS INTO Sakuraba with knees in the corner! Good Vibrations! He lifts Sakuraba onto the corner and goes for the running kneelift. Sakuraba dodges and puts the sleeper back on! But he's on the apron and has to break. Wicked stiff shot to the back of Nakamura's head. Now Sakuraba goes nuts in the corner with open hand strikes to the face and punches to the gut. German suplex from Sakuraba! Nakamura pops back up and charges....right into Sakuraba's knee! A slow mo replay shows Nakamura taking the knee legit right on the jaw. Ground and pound from Sakuraba. He rolls Nakamura over into a triangle choke. Nakamura powers back up and escapes. BOMAYE! On the back of Sakuraba's head! Nakamura's bleeding in his mouth. He goes for the full Bomaye to finish it. Sakuraba dodges and pulls Nakamura up for another German attmpt. Nakamura fights it and tries to flip Sakuraba over, but Sakuraba rolls through it and tries for an armbar, then rolls over to try to put the triangle on again. Nakamura fights it off, but still can't get in superior position. Sakuraba hits some more grounded shots, then puts on a modified kimura lock. Nakamura rolls to escape and tries to counter it into an armber. They get into a leverage fight. Sakuraba lets go and hits another shot across Nakamura's forehead. The kimura is on again. Nakamura goes over and gets a rope break. Sakuraba refuses to break, getting boos from the crowd. Nakamura lifts him up into a fireman's carry! Landslide! His old finisher. Nakamura lifts Sakuraba up for a German. Sakuraba escapes and gets a full kimura lock on! In the middle of the ring. Nakamura's in deep shit now. He hits knees to Sakuraba's head to try to get free! Sakuraba switches and tries for an armbar. Nakamura locks his hands to block it. Escape and short Bomaye! Nakamura sets up in the corner. BOMAYEEEEEEEE! Nakamura gets the pin to retain! That's how you do this type of match. Freaking brilliant. Sakuraba did what he was familiar with while Nakamura adapted to the style perfectly while still making it clearly a wrestling match and not one of those Inoki era shoot hybrids. After the bell they hug it out and Sakuraba raises Nakamura's hand. Also perfect. After that Nakamura takes the mic, gives us some "YEAOH"s and says a few words. ****1/2
 
To set up the main event- Tanahashi successfully defended at WK 6 for his record 11th defense of that year plus title reign. During post-match festivities he was interrupted by Okada, who had just had his excursion return match earlier in the night. A rather unspectacular one it should be mentioned. Brash young Okada laid down the challenge, and not one to back down from one Tanahashi accepted. They met at The New Beginning in Osaka in February, where it was widely expected Tanahashi would wipe the floor with Okada on the way to his next real challenge. Instead, the inexperienced Okada pulled off the unthinkable, dethroning the Ace during his greatest run in the prime of his career in the biggest upset in New Japan history. The Shocka in Osaka, or as New Japan officially puts it much less poetically The Rainmaker Shock. It helped the match was genuinely great, the first real look at what Okada could do in the ring, and it kicked off what would be one of the greatest rivalries not just in New Japan history, but all of Japanese wrestling and perhaps worldwide. Tanahashi regrouped and won the title back in a rematch at Dominion for his 6th Heavyweight title win, tying Tatsumi Fujinami for the most ever. Right after, Okada won the G1 Climax to become the youngest G1 winner ever and the first since Goto in 2008 to win it in his first attempt. He also extended the streak of first time G1 winners to six straight years. With that win Okada started a new tradition. Rather than taking his earned title shot in the fall, as had been the norm to that point, he instead said he was cashing it in at Wrestle Kingdom. He even created a Money in the Bank style briefcase to hold the contract in and carry up to the big show, which all G1 winners would do for years after. To fill the time until WK the tradition was also started of the G1 winner defending the briefcase against wrestlers who had defeated him in the round robin portion of the tournament on the remaining major shows for the year.
 
IWGP Heavyweight Championship: Hiroshi Tanahashi (c) def Kazuchika Okada (w/Gedo) (CHAOS) in 33:34- The contrast between Okada at last year's WK and this one is insane. Fully established and accepted as a top guy. Lockup and Okada does his usual tease and clean break, then strikes the Rainmaker pose right in Tanahashi's face. Another lockup and rope break and Tanahashi hits his pose. Headlock, push off and Okada hits a shoulderblock. Now Okada grabs a headlock. Tanahashi tries to power free and we get a top wristlock fight. Tanahashi wins and reverses into his own headlock, then wins the next shoulderblock. After some position jokeying Okada grabs an arm wringer. Tanahashi gets a leg takedown into a partial cloverleaf. Okada escapes into a hammerlock. Tanahashi works back around into a headlock on the mat and keeps Okada trapped in it. Okada eventually backs Tanahashi into the corner for a break, then hits shoulderblocks. Back elbow from Tanahashi and the springboard crossbody connects. Okada places Tanahashi up top and looks for the dropkick, but Tanahashi cuts it off. Okada hits the ropes to crotch Tanahashi, then hits a draping DDT! Pretty sure I head Michael Cole shout "VINTAGE Randy Orton!" when that hit. Tanahashi goes to the floor to recover. Okada comes around and cranks Tanahashi's neck back on the guardrail right in front of the long commentary/officials table. When Tanahashi gets back in Okada hits a running diving kick to the neck for 2. Midring leverage fight that Tanahashi can't keep up and just drops. Okada stomps him down in the corner. Tanahashi fires back with forearms. Open hand slap to Okada! Okada tries to momentum toss but Tanahashi skins the cat. Okada hits a flapjack for 2. He wraps Tanahashi up in a crucifix plus neck vice on the mat and cranks back. Tanahashi rolls over for a rope break. Setup slam but Tanahashi dodges the senton. Tanahashi hits a flying forearm to finally switch momentum. Forearms and an uppercut in the corner. Basement dropkick to Okada's knee! Tanahashi clips the knee! Full on forearm slugfest. Both guys grab hair! Strike combo from Tanahashi. Okada responds with a series of uppercuts. Tanahashi blocks a kick and hits a dragon screw! Okada rolls to the floor. Tanahashi goes up top. Aces High to the floor! That never doesn't look impressive, Tanahashi always gets such crazy height on it. Back in Tanahashi goes for the cloverleaf. Okada fights it and gets a rope break before getting turned over. Okada dragon screw on Tanahashi! DDT from Okada. He wraps Tanahashi up in the arm trapped vice hold. Why didn't Okada use that in later years instead of that boring ass Money Clip he insisted on finishing matches with for so long. Tanahashi backs up and gets a rope break. Setup slam and Okada goes up top. He goes for the elbow drop. Tanahashi gets his knees up! Pose and he goes up top. Okada cuts him off with an uppercut. Top rope fight. I love the Japanese play by play guy shouting "DANGEROUS!" in English. A forearm puts Okada back down. Okada hits the dropkick and sends Tanahashi down to the floor! He takes Tanahashi up the ramp. Okada sets up for a tombstone on the ramp. Tanahashi fights it off so Okada lets go, hits some shots to the back, and walks further up the ramp. Okada charges.....into a Tanahashi slingblade! Tanahashi breaks the count and brings Okada back in. He sets up in the corner. Crossbody into the corner. He goes for another slingblade. Okada catches him and hits a Samoan drop. Tanahashi pops back up! Falcon arrow slam. Tanahashi goes up top. High fly NO Okada gets his knees up! Deep water now as both guys struggle to get up. Okada grabs Tanahashi on a charge and hits the neckbreaker for 2. Fireman's carry slam for 2. Slam and this time Okada hits the elbow off the top rope. GIVE ME MY WIDE SHOT! Yes, we're already there. Rainm...NO Tanahashi counters and gets a straitjacket German for 2. Dragon suplex! Okada just kicks out! Slingblade! Now Tanahashi goes up top. HIGH FLY FLOW! OKADA KICKS OUT! Man, the crowd bit HARD on that one. Reverse dragon screw on the mat. Another one. The cloverleaf is fully on. Okada tries for the ropes but Tanahashi pulls him back and sits on him. Okada looks fully trapped, but he gets one last push and gets to the ropes. Another go for a slingblade. Okada counters with a dropkick! Again both guys struggle up and get in each other's faces while doing so as we hit the 30 minute call. Okada gets a quck duck under. RAINMA...NO Tanahashi barely ducks it! He sees the dropkick counter coming and ducks it! Okada ducks a slingblade and dropkicks Tanahashi's back! Tombstone! Rainmaker pose! Tanahashi counters the Rainmaker with a slingblade! More wobblelegging and Okada barely connects with an uppercut. He goes for another tombstone. Tanahashi fights it off and we get another leverage fight. Okada lets go and hits elbows to Tanahashi's neck. Tanahashi grabs a leg and dropkicks the other one. Tanahashi tombstone! He drags himself up top. Aces High! Full spring up top. HIGH FLY FLOWWWWWWWWWWW! Tanahashi gets the pin to retain! Now that is the definiton of an epic, nearly perfect Tokyo Dome main event. Amazing stuff. The craziest thing is, that's probably only the third best match these two will have just over the course of 2013, much less ever. ****3/4
 
Tanahashi gets the cavalcade of Tokyo Dome winner trophies (including one hilariously small one) before doing the usual end of show promo and smashing of a few air guitars. Okada would use another tournament win, this time the New Japan Cup, to get another title shot at Invasion Attack in April (the same show that Bullet Club started) and this time win the title for the second time, which would be his first year plus reign. Not his last.
 
OVERALL SHOW THOUGHTS- It took a bit to get going, but once it did, look out. This was the first Wrestle Kingdom to be what the show will soon be known for year after year: crazy quality up and down the card, topped off with an epic main event.
OVERALL SHOW GRADE: A- 

Friday, March 20, 2026

Wrestle Kingdom VI

Legacy Review

Wrestle Kingdom VI

January 4, 2012 from the Tokyo Dome
 
Six years into the Wrestle Kingdom name, New Japan is starting to find more sure footing in the post-Inokism era. A new Ace had been found in Hiroshi Tanahashi, and both he and Shinsuke Nakamura were giving New Japan the kind of star power they hadn't had in a long time. Despite that, the company is still leaning heavily on cross-promotional battles to carry these shows, with Pro Wrestling NOAH once again the most visible partner. But the pieces were slowly coming together for the coming second Golden Age of New Japan. In fact, this show would be a bit of a watershed event. No one knew the massive changes and shocks that were right around the corner. This show is also the official kickoff for New Japan's 40th anniversary year.
 
There's two big stories within the company coming into this show, and appropriately they're intersecting in the main event. One is the aforementioned Tanahashi, who won the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at WK 5 and has held it since. A successful defense tonight will make him just the 5th man to cross a full year with that title to date (joining Big Van Vader, The Great Muta, Shinya Hashimoto who did it twice, and Yuji Nagata), though he's still a bit away from Hashimoto's single reign length record of 489 days. Coming into this show he's also tied Nagata's record of successful defenses in one reign at 10. A win tonight will give him a record v11. Opposite him is Minoru Suzuki. A longtime freelancer, Suzuki signed a full time contract with New Japan in early 2011. Soon after, he caused a mutiny within the shortlived Kojima-Gun faction (led by Satoshi Kojima) and formed Suzuki-Gun. Suzuki-Gun quickly became New Japan's hot new heel stable, alongside the established CHAOS.
 
As usual this is from the New Japan World archives so Japanese commentary only except where noted. 
 
Preshow: Captain New Japan & Tama Tonga def Tomoaki Honma & Kyosuke Mikami in 8:47- Oh, Captain New Japan. Where to begin. Real name Mitsuhide Hirasawa, he was originally in Nagata's Seigigun stable. During an excursion to WWC in Puerto Rico he developed a new character named Hideo Sato, who had shall we say mental problems and would often impersonate other wrestlers (not unlike Charlie Haas's run when he impersonated WWE legends, but less fun and more unhinged). Upon return to New Japan he left Seigiun for CHAOS, then got kicked out of CHAOS for being a nutjob that couldn't win matches. After than he put on a mask and became Captain New Japan, which didn't stop the losing streak or the mental health concerns. Tama is still getting his feet wet with New Japan in these pre-Bullet Club years. On the other side, Honma was also a hard luck wrestler, but generally a more lovable loser than Capt. NJ was. Mikami is the then-requisite Young Lion representative for the show, albeit the preshow. This is his sendoff match before going on excursion to CMLL. When he came back he would be under a mask as El Desperado. So basically the only question in this match is which guy is Tama going to pin, there's no other way it's going to go. Capt. New Japan's shield looks like an aluminum wrapped bottle cap. Tama's still wearing his Jimmy Snuka gear, barefoot and all. Mikami starts with Cap. As befits a Young Lion, Mikami is all fired up. But Cap calls an immediate halt and wants a handshake to start. Mikami quickly slaps his hand to get it out of the way. Lockup after that with Cap giving a clean rope break. Mikami dives and tries a leg takedown that leads to a mat exchange that Mikami realizes he can't win so he bails. Cap lost a glove! He keeps going regardless of the fact anyone could identify his hand now. Another mat exchange and stalemate. Both sides decide to tag. Honma grabs a headlock on Tama. Speed run and Tama hits a Snuka style chop. Splash in the corner and back suplex from Tama for 2. Suplex fight that Honma powers Tama up to win. Mikami tags in, knocks the goof Cap off the apron, and Tama takes a double shoulderblock. Mikami pounds away on Tama on the mat. Stand up forearm exchange, then Mikami hits a backdrop for 2. Honma hits a slam and the short Kokeshi for 2. Tama fires back with chops. Headbutt and dropkick from Tama. Tag to Cap. He ducks a Honma lariato and hits an ugly dropkick. Running elbow in the corner and exploder suplex out. Cap goes up top and hits a weak crossbody for 2. He tries to get the crowd fired up for his big finish. Honma blocks it and hits a back elbow, then a lariato. Setup slam and Honma goes up top, which does get the preshow crowd fired up. Kokeshi does NOT make you happy as Cap dodges it. Tags on both sides. Tama and Mikami slug it out. Unique diving lariato from Mikami. Running back elbow in the corner. Powerslam from Mikami for 2. He hooks up for a German suplex. Tama fights free, then off a corner whip hops up to the top rope and hits a corkscrew crossbody for 2. Reverse neckbreaker. Honma runs in to break up the pin as we go full DONNYBROOK. Tama counters Mikami into a leaping DDT and that gets the pin. Mikami goes off to excursion on his back, as is tradition. Go learn and get better. Pretty low energy warmup match. *1/2
 
It's cut off the copy in the World archives, but if you want to get properly fired up the opening VTR is still available on Youtube on the official New Japan account:
 
 
IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship: Apollo 55 def No Remorse Corps (c) (CHAOS) in 12:44- No Remorse Corps (Rocky Romero and Davey Richards) defeated Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt and Ryuguske Taguchi) during the fall Destruction tour for these titles, so this is A55 getting their rematch. Devitt is also the Junior Heavyweight champ, which sadly means we won't get a defense of that title tonight. The bell rings and NRC attack. Nice stereo counters and A55 clear the ring. They load up for stereo dives but are cut off and tossed out. NRC tope suicidas on both sides of the ring! Settle in with Romero on Devitt in the ring. Richards tags in and hits a back suplex. Devitt fights off a double backdrop and tags. Taguchi uses a whip to spring up the ropes and hit a dropkick on Romero. Taguchi goes for Three Amigos suplexes on Romero. Richards cuts it off at 2, but Taguchi hooks him up too and hits a double DDT. A55 work Romero into the drop toe hold/basement dropkick double team. They slow things down a bit with some rapid fire tag work on Romero's arm. I love Taguchi's wild chop off the top rope. Romero begs off after that, suckering Taguchi into a tights pull out to the floor, then Richards nails him with a PK in the back from the apron. High knee from Romero on the floor. Inverted atomic drop/dropkick combo from NRC back in. Richards hooks Taguchi up in a combined armbar and cloverleaf. Devitt comes in to break it up. Taguchi comes back with a springboard back elbow and gets a tag. John WOOOOOO dropkick from Devitt on Richards. Lariato for Romero. Richards hits a forearm in the corner. On the other side Balor hits another corner dropkick. Romero blindsides Devitt with corner lariato, but then he takes a corner dropkick. Devitt sets up for a big dive on Romero, but Richards cuts it off with a kick from the apron. Devitt takes him out with some chops, then backdrops a charging Romero out onto him! A55 try again and finally hit a stereo tope con hilo. Romero again begs off back in the ring. He suckers Devitt into a punch. Taguchi uses Devitt's back to hit Poetry in Motion on Romero! Taguchi big splash off the top. Devitt hits the double stomp off the top (not yet the Coupe de Gracie) but Richards breaks the pin up. Taguchi wheelbarrows Romero up into a Devitt codebreaker, kind of a reverse Shatter Machine, for 2. Devitt hooks up for Bloody Sunday. Romero fights it off with some misdirection kicks. Taguchi runs in and hits an enzuguri. Richards comes in and backdropeh suplexes Taguchi. Devitt Pele kick on Richards. Everyone's down. Romero forever corner lariatos on Devitt. Devitt pops out with his own lariato. Both sides tag. Taguchi and Richards exchange kicks. Richards changes the script with a lariato for 2. Another enzuguri from Taguchi. Richards goes for a pop up kick on Taguchi but completely whiffs. Taguchi sells the force of the air. Romero goes up top and NRC hit a Doomsday Device high knee. Devitt breaks the pin up with another top rope double stomp. He got some freaking AIR on that one too. Some ROH venues at the time he would have been through the ceiling. On the apron Devitt runs Romero's crotch into the post. Taguchi faceplants Richards in the ring. Setup slam and both A55 guys go up top. NRC cut them off. Romero hurricanranas Devitt off. Richards avalanche brain buster on Taguchi! A second regular one. Taguchi kicks out! Richards powerbomb. Devitt just breaks the pin up! Romero tosses Devitt out and NRC set up for their finisher. Devitt dropkicks Romero off the top rope! Taguchi rolls Richards around into a magistral cradle for 2. Richards hits two big kicks to the head on Taguchi. He goes for another powerbomb. Taguchi rolls through it into a cradle and gets the pin to win the titles back! Usual very good junior tag titles opener, it's hard to go wrong with that. ***1/2
 
Jushin Thunder Liger, Tiger Mask, Mascara Dorada & KUSHIDA def Atlantis, Valiente, Taka Michinoku & Taichi in 10:18- CMLL showcase matches had become a simi-regular thing on the WK undercard, and that's what we have here along with some of New Japan's top juniors. KUSHIDA is making his Tokyo Dome debut tonight. After spending years on the Japanese indys he signed with New Japan full time in February '11. Within a few years he'll be the new ace of the junior division. Michinoku and Taichi are our first Suzuki-Gun members on the night. Both were in Kojima-Gun and were the ones that mutinied when Suzuki took the group over, making them Suzuki-Gun's other founding members. Absolutely insane all, and I mean ALL, white look for Liger tonight. Well, white and shiny silver. KUSHIDA has yet to start up the Back to the Future look, he's actually wearing Lion Mark gear. Dorada and Valiente start. Big corner chop from Valiente. Dorada does some wild swinging that I have no idea what he's trying to do and I don't think Valiente does either. They both swing more chops as a kind of mental reset. After that is some lucha kip up madness and Valiente hits a monkey flip. Dorada rolls over into a basement dropkick for 2. In classic lucha style both guys handspring or backflip off the ropes for no real reason. Flying headscissors from Valiente that sends Dorada out, followed by a TOPE SUICIDA. TM and Atlantis get in the ring as this is clearly lucha no tag needed if guys go to the floor rules. They do some spiffy back and forth lucha stuff, much more smooth than the last pairing. TM gets Atlantis out to the floor and loads up for a dive. Taichi heels it up by cutting him off with a kick. He tosses TM out and goes for his own dive. Liger and KUSHIDA cut him off. Double flying forearm from them. Another one on Michinoku. Now it's Valiente's turn to kill a dive. Liger and Michinoku are assumed legal and exchange some chops until Taichi comes in to double team him. All four heels unload on Liger at the same time. Come on ref, is this even kosher under lucha rules? Taichi starts taking Liger's mask off. TM finally gets in to make the save. So he thinks. While everyone else is fighting in the ring Michinoku is still working on Liger's mask. Or stalling, it's hard to tell. Now Taichi starts taking TM's mask off. And Dorada's. I'm sensing a theme. Masks are coming off faster than if any of these guys had signed with WCW. KUSHIDA confuses Taichi by having no mask to remove. Taichi locks on a Greco Roman Nut Vice instead. Then a knee to the crotch. Liger gets some momentum fighting the SG guys off and tags out to KUSHIDA. Springboard ax handle coming in and he takes out both SG guys. KUSHIDA barely pulls off the handspring elbow on Michinoku. Standing moonsault for 2. Setup backbreaker. Michinoku dodges the moonsault but KUSHIDA lands on his feet. Taichi superkick on KUSHIDA. It's time to pop the crowd. THE PANTS ARE OFF! Zero pop. It's not established yet. KUSHIDA hits an enzuguri that sends Taichi to the floor. Liger dive off the top rope on Taichi! That kicks off the EVERYONE DIVE sequence. Atlantis tries to launch Valiente on the pile to finish it off, but they completely eff it up and Valiente lands on the apron well short. Valiente then goes for an asai moonsault to make up for it and nearly blows that too. Back in Atlantis gives TM some backbreakers for 2. He gets TM up in a torture rack. Liger breaks that up. Valiente plants Liger with a gutbuster for 2. He goes up top. Liger gets his boots up on the moonsault. Liger bomb! Valiente kicks out! Liger brain buster, and that gets the pin. Turned out this was as much a vehicle for the SG guys to heel it up as a lucha showcase, and even the lucha stuff was more miss than hit, a risk you often run into with that style. **
 
Kazuchika Okada def YOSHI-HASHI (CHAOS) in 4:37- The first of tonight's major events, though no one knew just how huge it would turn out to be. These two were classmates in the Noge Dojo, went on excursion at the same time and are now returning from excursion at the same time in a very rare match between two excursion returnees. It's safe to say their careers will follow very different paths from here. Okada is returning from two years in TNA, where he was misused so badly it completely destroyed the longstanding New Japan/TNA partnership. Unbeknownst to anyone, New Japan saw huge things in Okada that honestly weren't readily apparent to anyone at the time. Certainly not TNA. HASHI spent his excursion in CMLL, and prior to tonight had already announced he had joined CHAOS because he had grown used to being a rudo in Mexico. HASHI confirms his heel status by shoving the ref around after his entrance. Along with his return, Okada is debuting the Rainmaker character tonight. It's so weird to hear that music and see that entrance with zero reaction. More heeling from HASHI as he hits a lariato before the bell. He follows up with some chops. Okada reverses a whip and hits a dropkick, followed by his own chop. HASHI hot shots Okada and he goes out to the floor. HASHI tope suicida! Back in Okada hits another chop so HASHI goes to the old eye rake. Straight up humiliation slap from HASHI. Hiptoss into a basement dropkick for 2. HASHI scrapes Okada's face with his forearm gauntlets in the corner. More chops. Okada dodges in the corner and hits some uppercuts. Jawbreaker from HASHI. Powerslam for 2. He spits at the ref for not getting to 3. Okada flips out of a suplex attempt, but HASHI uses that to hit a neckbreaker. Okada dodges a swanton bomb. Another dropkick and Okada goes up top. Shotgun dropkick off the top. Neckbreaker and Okada hits the pose no one knows yet. No zoom out. RAINMAKER! It's clearly still in development, Okada dove as he hit it. That won't stick. That gets the pin to the dead silence of the crowd. Not what I'd call an amazing start. The match was, well, kinda bleh and went over like a fart in church in the arena, but I'm more confused as to the point of it all. HASHI was the clear heel, he was on offense most of the match, the whole thing was clearly designed to get Okada babyface sympathy (which he didn't), but then Okada's got his big heel moment coming later tonight (spoilers). Again, moderately OK if really short match, but its place in the long term booking picture perplexes me. *3/4
 
Stack of Arms def Seigigun in 6:34- Unfortunately this looks like it will be one of those Inoki era "different style fights", and once again they've drug Yuji Nagata into it. Stack of Arms are Masakatsu Funaki and Masayuki Kono, who were both MMA'ers, but fortunately were both trained as pro wrestlers before moving to MMA and had good wrestling experience across most of Japan's major companies. They're representing All Japan tonight. Joining Seigigun leader Nagata is Wataru Inoue. The bell rings and Nagata runs right into a Funaki kick. Nagata lets him get some more kicks in, then blocks and hits an exploder suplex. Now Nagata fires off some kicks. Funaki hits a kick that might have been a bit south of the border to put Nagata down again. Kono tags in and they hit some stereo knees, then a high knee/elbow drop combo. They wrap Nagata up in a combined armbar and legbar. Yeah, I don't think that's legal. Inoue comes in to break it up before the ref bothers. Nagata rolls under Kono and suckers him into a basement dropkick. Inoue tags in and they hits some double team strikes. Double shoudlerblock. Inouse hits some chops. Another high knee from Kono. Funaki comes in and pummels Inoue in the corner with kicks, then hiptosses him out. He hooks on an armbar and Nagata breaks it up. Inoue blocks another kick and lifts Funaki up into a reverse slam. Nagata hits his corner high knee on Funaki. Magic screw! Funaki blocks a kick and hooks up for a dragon suplex. Nagata counters out and goes for Nagata Lock! Inoue cuts off Kono and Nagata gets it on in the middle of the ring! The eyes roll back! But Funaki will not give it up. Kono eventually breaks it up and side slams Nagata. Nagata is still able to tag out first. Inoue corner running forearm on Funaki and he hits a suplex for 2. Nagata comes in and gives Kono some strikes. Funaki backdopeh suplex on Nagata. Inoue does a crazy running head first tackle on Funaki in the corner. Another one on Kono. German suplex on Funaki for a long 2. Funaki comes back with some strikes and a rolling kick for 2. Nagata and Kono take the fight to the floor while Funaki and Inoue exchange open hand strikes in the ring. Inoue runs into a kick right to his face, and Funaki gets the pin! That wasn't as different style as I was afraid of. It turned out OK with them cramming as much as they could into the short time. Funaki I liked what I saw of, Kono less so, so it was good Funaki carried most of the match for his team. But as I've had to say way too often, I wish they'd found something better for Nagata to do tonight. After the bell Funaki and Nagata get into it again and have to be separated. That's a singles match I'd actually be interested in seeing. **1/2
 
MVP & Shelton Benjamin def IWGP Intercontinental Champion Masato Tanaka & Yujiro Takahashi (w/Gedo & Jado) (CHAOS) in 9:41- Former WWE stars MVP and Benjamin are making their Tokyo Dome debuts tonight. In fact this is Benjamin's New Japan debut period. MVP debuted in New Japan soon after WK 5 and joined Kojima-Gun, but didn't move to Suzuki-Gun after the mutiny out of loyalty to Kojima. In May '11 MVP won the tournament to crown the inaugural IWGP Intercontinental Champion, which was held during New Japan's first ever tour in the US. It was New Japan's first attempt at a secondary title since the deactivation of the short lived U-30 (Under 30) title in 2006. This one will stick. Tanaka defeated him for the title at Destruction. Yujiro is, as he has been much of his career, a hanger on. The ex-WWE guys charge the ring on their entrance and we're off. Benjamin muscles Yujiro up for a long running powerslam. MVP whips out the Ballin' elbow early on both guys. Smart because that move is not going to be believable as any kind of finisher in Japan. The heels camp on the floor for a bit to regroup, to the point ref Tiger Hattori starts a count on them. Reset with Yujiro and Benjamin. Back and forth slugging and Benjamin hits a back elbow. He slips out of a Yujiro suplex attempt and hits a neckbreaker. Benjamin backs up to tag and tries to hold Yujiro, but he escapes and tags out too. The IC title feud is about to rekindle. They immediately start trading strikes. Speed run and MVP hits a snap belly to belly suplex. Yujiro kicks MVP in the back from the apron and Tanaka hits a lariato. Everything goes out to the floor and Tanaka gets a table out. He sets MVP on the table on the floor, then goes up to the top rope. A big splash puts MVP through the table! Now Tanaka has a kendo stick and hits MVP with it. Back in Takaka hits grounded knees to MVP's midsection and covers for 2. Running corner forearm for 2. Tanaka wraps up a modified armbar, almost a grounded abdominal stretch. Yujiro tags in and starts pushing MVP to fight back. Lariato from Yujiro for 2. MVP flips out of a Tanaka hiptoss attempt and hits a DDT! Tag to Benjamin. He comes in with an ex handle off the top rope and some lariatos. Stinger Splash! Powerslam. Yujiro runs in and takes a Samoan drop. Misdirection kick on Tanaka for 2. Gedo gets on the apron to distract and Yujiro belly to bellys Benjamin. Yujiro makes the tactical mistake of whipping Benjamin near his corner. MVP blind tags in, then Benjamin keeps running and launches a tope con hilo onto Gedo! Very nice. Benjamin flew over the damn guardrail too. In the ring MVP hits rolling Germans and kips up. He hooks up for the Playmaker but Yujiro counters out and hits a lariato. Tanaka runs in, hits a brain buster, and Yujiro covers for 2. Tanaka takes Benjamin to the floor while Yujiro hits a German for 2. MVP hits the Playmaker! He doesn't cover, instead he hooks Yujiro up in a modified crossface. Gedo and Jado get on the apron again to distract and MVP knocks them back down. Meanwhile, Tanaka's gone up to the top rope. Benjamin springs up and slams him off! The crowd loved that. MVP hooks the crossface on again and Yujiro taps. Another rock solid match and a good New Japan debut for Benjamin. **3/4
 
Later in the year New Japan would introduce another new secondary title, the NEVER Openweight Championship. Tanaka would win the tournament to become the inaugural champion for that after being the second ever IC champ. He'd dropped the IC title in the meantime, which I'll get into later.
 
IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship: Tencozy def Bad Intentions (c) in 12:40- More reign records being set here. The Bad Intentions duo of Giant Bernard (Albert/A-Train in WWE) and Karl Anderson had been tag champs since Dominion 2010 and were now up to 564 days as champions, which had already destroyed the old record by over 100 days. As if that wasn't dominant enough, they were also the current GHC Tag Team champs and had held those for over 6 months. Trying to finally wrest the titles away from them are Kojima and Hiroyoshi Tenzan, at the time the second most successful New Japan team of all time (the most successful was Tenzan's other pairing with Masahiro Chono as Cho-Ten, who had held the longest reign record before Bad Intentions). Kojima and Anderson start. They're wearing almost the same color scheme (black and orange, plus white for Kojima) which is weird looking. More settling in start than we've had in most matches so far with some hammerlock tradeoffs. Kojima runs Anderson over with a shoulderblock and pops the pecs. Off the ropes again Anderson hits a leg lariat and shows he can also make his pecs talk. I imagine this is how Meathook made his tattoo talk in The Secret of Monkey Island. Anderson grabs a headlock and Kojima quickly backdropeh suplexes him. Tenzan takes Bernard out so Tencozy can hit some double teams. Tenzan starts laying in the Mongolian chops. When he hits the ropes Bernard trips him from the floor and literally spins him around on the mat. Anderson hits an apron legdrop. They hit a Decapitation Device on Kojima in the ring. Anderson snap mares Tenzan over and hits a series of kneedrops for 2. Bernard lays into Tenzan in the corner. He slingshots Tenzan into the middle rope. Now Anderson takes Kojima out so the champs can pummel Tenzan with elbow and knee drops over and over. Anderson hooks Tenzan up and calls loudly for a "BRAIN BUSTAH". Too loudly, Tenzan blocks it and hits his own suplex instead. Tag to Kojima. Machine gun chops! On the Machine Gun. Bernard comes in, but Kojima dodges and he avalanches his own partner in the corner! Yelled "OH SHIT" going in as he saw it too, fantastic. Machine gun chops for Bernard! With Anderson still squashed behind him. Kojima lariatos Bernard 360 to the floor. Corner running forearm for Anderson and Kojima goes up top. The elbow drop hits for 2. Anderson gets up and they get into a chop exchange. Kojima pummels him with forearms. Anderson dodges a short discus lariato and hits an uppercut. Running powerbomb from Anderson for 2. Bernard avalanches Kojima in the corner. Vader bomb! He goes for another but Kojima gets his knees up. He hooks up for a Kojicutter but Bernard blocks it. Big boot/splash combo from Bernard for 2. Kojima flips out of a suplex attempt. Kojicutter! He gets over and tags out to Tenzan. Mongolian chops for Bernard. The champs double team to break Tenzan's momentum. After a series of splashes and sentons Bernard covers for 2. Tenzan dodges an avalanche and hits some more Mongolian chops. He tries a shoulderblock on Bernard but no one moves. Bernard open hand slap! Another shoulderblock with no effect. A third. Bernard seems almost annoyed. Now Bernard tries coming off the ropes but Tenzan spinning heel kicks him. Kojima DDT on Bernard. Anderson fights off a Kojicutter. Gun Stun! Anderson sets up to give Tenzan one too. Tenzan blocks it! Headbutt! Off the ropes Tenzan runs into a Gun Stun! Anderson screams at the legal Bernard to cover. Tenzan kicks out! The champs hit Magic Killer on Tenzan! That's got to be it. NO Kojima just barely breaks the pin up! Bernard plants Tenzan with a Last Ride powerbomb. But it's still not enough! Bernard gets him up for a Bernard Driver. Tenzan slips free. Kojima with a lariato to the back of Bernard's head! 3D on Anderson! Kojima tears the elbow pad off and says that's it. Cozy Lariato on Bernard! Tenzan goes up top. Moonsault! Tenzan gets the pin, and the longest IWGP tag title reign in history is over! It's Tencozy's third title win, putting them two behind Cho-Ten for the most ever at that point. This started a bit of a freefall for Bad Intentions as they also dropped the GHC tag titles later in the month. ***1/4
 
Hirooki Goto def Takashi Sugiura in 12:35- These two are wrapping up what's become a three year WK trilogy. NOAH's Sugiura successfully defended the GHC Heavyweight title against Goto at WK 4, then last year they were on opposite sides of a tag match. Their singles match and tag interactions have been phenomenal so far, thanks to outstanding chemistry based on little more than a mutual love of hitting each other as hard as they can as often as they can. Bell rings, charge right into a lockup and we're already swinging forearms. Shoulderblock standoff. Another one. Third go and Goto wins that one. Both guys cautiously go in for another lock up. Goto gets a takedown and works on Sugiura's leg a bit. He switches to a headlock and keeps Sugiura trapped in it for a bit. Eventually Sugiura backs Goto up for a rope break, then paintbrushes him right across the face. I don't think Goto liked that. Goto snap mare and PK to the back. Sugiura hits a knee to the gut and suplex drops Goto on the top rope. He gives Goto a return back PK, then wraps Goto up in a bodyscissors. Goto takes a rope break out of that. Sugiura cranks things up with some un-Japan like straight punches to the gut in the corner. Goto tries to fire some chops back but Sugiura stays targeted on his midsection with some kicks. Double lariato where no one moves. Another one. Sugiura hits a back kick. Goto comes off the ropes a few times, spins around a kick, and hits a lariato. Heel kick from Goto in the corner and he backdropeh suplexes Sugiura for 2. Sugiura tries to fight out but Goto hits a German suplex for 2. Sugiura wins a suplex fight, faceplants Goto, and hits a running boot in the corner. Another one. Goto responds with a corner lariato on the other side. A third Sugiura high kick and he tackles Goto down. He goes for a runing knee but Goto blocks it. Standing switches in a German suplex fight. Sugiura Germans Goto into the corner pad! Running knee in the corner from Sugiura. He pounds Goto in the corner with forearms, and shoves useless little ref Marty Asami out of the way when he tries to stop it. Another Sugiura German. Running knee! Goto kicks out! Sugiura dragon suplex! Goto JUST kicks out! Sugiura hooks up for an Olympic slam. Goto armdrags free. He tries to fire up but more forearms from Sugiura puts him back down. Big open hand slaps from Sugiura. Headbutt from Goto! Backdropeh! Another! Lariato for 2. Another Goto headbutt and huge lariato for a long 2. Shoten hits! That gets Goto an ultimately pretty one sided down the stretch win. It's nowhere near bad, but pretty disappointing compared to their prior matches. ***
 
Goto would be the one to dethrone Tanaka for the IC title at The New Beginning in Osaka, his first of several reigns with his (almost) permanent consolation prize. Then in July just before the start of the G1 Shinsuke Nakamura would defeat Goto for his first of many IC title wins. The rest of his time in New Japan Nakamura would willingly give up more potential reigns with the Heavyweight title in order to elevate the IC title to near or at the same level. 
 
Togi Makabe def Yoshihiro Takayama (Suzuki-Gun) in 9:15- Takayama was with NOAH full time, but he's made semi-regular New Japan appearances over the years so he's gotten a place in Suzuki-Gun. He's also Suzuki's best friend in real life, and I'm sure they wanted to run together. As soon as Makabe's chain is off he charges at Takayama with a lariato and pounds him with forearms in the corner. Takayama reverses a corner whip but Makabe pops out with another lariato. Takayama shurgs off punches to hit a knee to the gut and backdropeh. They go to the floor with Makabe taking guardrail and post shots. Takayama gives him some kneelifts on the apron. Chest kicks back in from Takayama that fire Makabe up. Takayama cuts him off with another knee to the gut and dropkicks him into the corner. Chest kick and arrogant one foot cover from Takayama. More Makabe shots to try to come back and yet another knee to the gut from Takayama. Double underhook suplex from Takayama into an armbar! Makabe locks his hands to block it. Takayama slowly breaks them and stretches it out, forcing Makabe to take a rope break. More corner shots from Takayama. He wants Asami to 10 count Makabe. Can Asami even count to 10? Makabe drags himself back up and Takayama hits a high knee. He puts Makabe in the tree of woe and lays in some more knees. Running knee and a one hand cover for 2. Makabe blocks a kick and lays in some headbutts. Takayama tries to stop him with a big boot but Makabe charges right through it to hit a lariato. Powerslam (barely) from Makabe. Corner lariato and mounted punches. Takayama fights out of a German attempt and hits another big boot, followed by a back suplex. Legdrop for 2. Takayama takes the kneepad off. Running knee! Makabe kicks out! Makabe tries to fight off a German but Takayama eventually gets him up and over. Makabe hits his own German for 2. Makabe hits lariatos and Takayama big boots with neither guy going down. Makabe hits some swinging ax handles to finally put Takayama down. He sets Takayama up top. Takayama fights, so Makabe rams his head into the post! Spider German! King Kong Kneedrop! It's over. Like a lot of other stuff tonight, it's fine. No disrespect to Suzuki's best friend but neither of these guys were exactly high ceiling guys, and Takayama's age was starting to show. **1/2
 
GHC Heavyweight Champion Go Shiozaki & Naomichi Marfuji def Shinsuke Nakamura & Toru Yano (CHAOS) in 15:10- NOAH legends Shiozaki and Marfuji have been making regular WK appearances in these NOAH partnership years. Marfuji had just made a major move in his career, moving from junior heavyweight to heavyweight. CHAOS leader Nakamura and Yano, who was right there with Nakamura in the mutiny against GBH to start the faction, are sometimes collectively known as CHAOS Top Team. Possibly due to his lack of recent title wins, Nakamura finally captured his first and it would turn out only G1 Climax win in '11, extending the streak of first time G1 winners to five straight years. After a couple of years of slow morphing Nakamura is now fully into his King of Strong Style rockstar style look. Marjufi and Nakamura start. Nakamura swings some light exploratory kicks while dancing around as only he can. They both cautiously lean in. Nakamura gets a leg takedown. Quick headscissors counter from Marfuji and stalemate. Some grappling leads them into a rope break. Nakamura does the head waggle and lightly slaps Marfuji's chest. That leads to a forearm exchange. Nakamura, always a more sure striker with his legs than his arms, switches to some knee shots. Marjufi gets a drop toe hold. Nakamrua dodges a dropkick, then Marfuji does some fancy dodges of multiple Nakamura kick swings. Nakamura shows a slight bit of frustration before going casual limp again. Both sides tag. Yano/Shiozaki lockup. Shiozaki teases taking a cheap shot against the ropes but eventually clean breaks. Another lockup into the ropes and this time Yano clean breaks, but not before mussing up Shiozaki's hair. Yano blocks a chop and puts on headlock. Shoulderblock standoff, Yano musses the hair again and then gives Shiozaki an eye rake. He runs into a Shiozaki chop. Kneedrop and another chop from Shiozaki. Marfuji stomps Yano in the corner and uses the corner to stand on his face. Marfuji tries to jump up in the corner but Yano yanks his foot to pull him back down. One smart wrestler, as he's sure to let us know. He tosses Marfuji out to the floor and the CHAOS team is all over him. Yano's got a pair of scissors and is going after Shiozaki's hair! I assume that's something from the build I don't know about. Shiozaki rams Yano's hand into the post to make him drop the scissors. Yano ducks and Shiozaki chops the post! Ouch. As everyone gets back in the ring Yano gets a corner pad off in his usual record time. Marfuji gets whipped into the exposed corner. Nakamura saunters in and gives Marfuji some poking kicks. Slam/kneedrop combo for 2. Yano gives Marfuji another whip into the steel. Delayed brain buster from Yano for 2. Marfuji maneuvers around Yano and hits a dropkick. Shiozaki tags in and hits more chops and a flying forearm. Running corner chops. Suplex fight that leads to a chop/forearm exchange. Yano yanks Shiozaki down by the hair and turns to do the thumb point pose he stole from RVD. Shiozaki grabs his hands from behind! Another chop into a fisherman's suplex for 2. The NOAH team tries to double team Yano but he yanks them both down by the hair. Don't try to outcheat the ultimate cheater. He gets the thumb point off and tags out. Nakamura lays into Shiozaki with kicks. He tries for a reverse exploder and a German but Shiozaki fights them both off. Spinning backfist from Shiozaki and he tags out. Marfuji hits a hip attack in the corner. Another suplex fight. Marfuji hits a nice short kick to Nakamura's head, snap mares him over and hits a running double stomp to his face. Superkick. Neck twist for 2. Both guys duck kicks again. Nakamura gets Marfuji with a knee to the jaw! He sets Marfuji up in the corner and hits the running kneelift. Reverse exploder! Nakamura sets up in the corner to finish it. Marfuji cuts the Bomaye off with a couple of counter kicks. Sliced Bread hits! Tag to Shiozaki. Yano runs in to cut him off. Shiozaki tosses him out and hits a diving lariato on Nakamura for 2. Nakamura blocks a strike and hits the misdirection kick. Literal kick in the ass on Shiozaki. Yano hits Shiozaki with the red chair from the floor! Nakamura stumbles down and tags. He doesn't look quite right but it could just be selling. Yano hits a side slam for 2. He muscles Shiozaki up for a powerbomb. Shiozaki counters with a hurricanrana and hits a discus lariato for 2. Yano dodges a charge and pushes Shiozaki into the exposed corner. Classic Yano roll up for 2. He slingshots Shiozaki into the corner. Last Ride powerbomb! Shiozaki kicks out! Shiozaki swings more chops. Another classic Yano small package counter for 2. Huge lariato from Shiozaki. More classic Yano as he blocks another, shoves Shiozaki toward Red Shoes so he has to duck, then hits a low blow. I think, my feed went out for a second there. Another cradle for a long 2. Yano loads up for a big lariato. Shiozaki cuts it off with his own! The cover is broken up by Marfuji and Nakamura running in. They go to the floor to fight. Shiozaki hits a fisherman's buster and covers. Marfuji cuts Nakamura off with a kneedrop off the top rope, but Yano kicks out anyway. While Marfuji blocks Nakamura Shiozaki hits the Go Flasher and it's over. Another good but no more match tonight. Not nearly enough Nakamura for me, but that's just personal bias for my favorite Japanese wrestler of all time. Fortunately this will be his last WK tag match. ***1/4
 
Keiji Mutoh def Tetusya Naito in 22:35- New Japan legend and current All Japan regular Mutoh is back over for his second WK to again wrestle one of the company's rising stars. That time it was pretty much ready to take over Tanahashi in the main event of WK 3, this time it's still putting it together Naito in the semi-main. Like Okada, the company saw huge things in Naito despite general public perception otherwise. In Naito's case I don't think anyone disputed his skill in the ring, it was his character and presentation that were being rejected by the fans, and would continue to be for several more years before he pretty much took his destino in his own hands to change things around. Both guys are very cautious at the start with lots of almost literal feeling out. Naito gets the first waist takedown into a mat grappling sequence. Mutoh gets Naito over into an almost amateur pinning position. Naito fights back up into a hammerlock on the mat. When Mutoh escapes he takes to the floor to rethink things. Naito stays sitting on the mat and this is so a spot LIJ Naito would be posing or doing something else over the top to rile Mutoh up more. We're not there yet though. More caution after Mutoh gets back in as they slowly feel in again. Naito goes to his knees to try to get a takedown but Mutoh keeps a wide base for leverage. Mutoh grabs Naito's foot and starts working on his leg. Naito does a very nice job using that to work Mutoh into a possible Sharpshooter/Scorpion Death Lock position. Mutoh senses it and readjusts, then takes a rope break. After the reset Mutoh gets an arm takedown into a headlock. First speed run and Mutoh gets a shoulderblock. Naito gets a hiptoss/dropkick combo and a headlock takedown. Mutoh eventually gets Naito in the corner for a break, then hits a shoulderblock and punch to crank things up a bit. He goes for the classic snap mare/elbow drop combo, but Naito dodges and hits a quick basement dropkick. That looked like the Naito I know. Mutoh again rolls out for a rethink. This time Naito follows and hits a shotgun dropkick off the apron! Mutoh grabs a kick on the floor and hits a dragon screw! I don't like the way Mutoh's looking around ringside. He opens the guardrail gate and puts Naito over the rail. Dragon screw on the guardrail! Ouch. Mutoh follows up with a short shotgun dropkick behind the 100 foot long announce table (I'm slightly exaggerating). Naito tries to shake the knee off and uses most of the 20 count getting back in. When he touches the ropes Mutoh hits him with a high shining wizardo! Dragon screw in the ropes! Another regular dragon screw in the ring. Mutoh hooks on the figure four! Naito actually shows some pre-LIJ attitude trying to fight it off, then crawls over and gets a rope break. Mutoh gets right back on the knee. He loads up another dragon screw. Naito fights it off with a forearm shot, but Mutoh dropkicks the knee again. Naito tries to fire up with more forearms and he gets Mutoh wobbled. Coming off the ropes Mutoh cuts Naito off with another dropkick to the knee, and that one hurt. More dragon screws hit and the figure four is on again. Another long fight and this time Naito looks like he's going down, but he manages to barely muster enough to get to the ropes again. When Mutoh goes for another dragon screw Naito open hand slaps him, then hits a reverse enzuguri. And a full enzuguri. Hangman's neckbreaker from Naito. Rolling senton for 2. He wraps Mutoh up in a neck vice. Modified cravat just about. When Mutoh breaks that Naito goes up top. Shotgun dropkick. He lifts Mutoh up, but that just lets Mutoh knee him in the face. Another dragon screw. Off a whip Naito surprises Mutoh with a flying forearm. He sets Mutoh up top. Hurricanrana! That gets a 2 count. Another enzuguri as a setup. Naito German suplex for 2. He lifts Mutoh up again and slams him down in the drop zone, then goes up top to finish it. Mutoh dodges the Stardust Press! Naito had no way of knowing at the time that's NEVER going to hit in the Tokyo Dome. Not that it would stop him from trying, even at the worst times for it. Shining wizardo! High wizardo in the corner and another dragon screw. Another full wizardo! Wizardo to the back of Naito's head! Mutoh flashes the double too sweet. Naito runs up and gets him in a cradle for 2! Another dropkick to the knee. Naito blocks a shining wizardo and gets a Euro clutch for 2. He tries another half nelson cradle but Mutoh rolls through and hits another shining wizardo. Another too sweet as Mutoh sets Naito up. One more shining wizardo. Naito kicks out! Mutoh does the backbreaker setup and goes up top. Moonsault! That gets the pin. Yeah, I liked that well enough. Like his match with Tanahashi it was a bit limited thanks to Mutoh sticking mostly to only knee work before spamming his finshers. Not sure the booking call did anyone any favors either. Still, another step on Naito's career long love/hate relationship with the Tokyo Dome and another slow step toward his eventual career turnaround. Things would come full circle in 2023 when Naito went over to NOAH (Mutoh's home promotion his final years) to be Mutoh's opponent in his retirement match. ***1/2
 
IWGP Heavyweight Championship: Hiroshi Tanahashi (c) def Minoru Suzuki (Suzuki-Gun) in 25:59- I did all the setup for this in the open so no extra jabbering here. This match has recently recorded alternate English commentary available from Walker Stewart, but I'm sticking with the original broadcast Japanese commentary. No offense meant to Walker, but if it was Kevin Kelley I might have switched over. Suzuki, clearly having a blast already getting to main event the Tokyo Dome, kicks an innocent cameraman off the apron before we hit the KAZA NI NARE. White vs black, good vs evil, the visuals for this match are so basic and perfect. Both guys cautiously ease into some knucklelocks, which slowly works into a full lockup with a long lockup fight. Tanahashi's clear power advantage lets him back Suzuki into the ropes and we get a clean break. More feeling up and Suzuki works into a hammerlock. Tanahashi reverses it and switches to a headlock. Suzuki tries to straight power out but can't. He does a nice bit of catch wrestling, using his foot to grind Tanahashi's knee to the ground, giving him the position to escape, then hooks on a cravat. Snap mare and Suzuki puts on a basic chinlock. Headlock takedown/headscissors counter and stalemate reset. Another slow lockup and Tanahashi gets a leg takedown. Suzuki hits the first strikes, back elbows to the gut to escape a headlock. Tanahashi responds with a forearm, setting off a forearm exchange. Suzuki hits some shots to the gut. Both guys end up tied up in the corner. Suzuki does not break clean. They exchange corner pad shots, then Tanahashi springs up top. Suzuki joins him and puts on a cobra twist while on the ropes! That's innovative. Can only hold it for the 5 count though. A running kick sends Tanahashi crashing off the top rope to the floor. We're in Suzuki territory now. Barricade shot for Tanahashi and Suzuki hits a couple of chops. Suzuki doesn't go as nuts as I thought he would out there, rolling Tanahashi back in. After a comeback flurry Tanahashi hits a dropkick that sends Suzuki back out. Tanahashi tries a plancha, but Suzuki sidesteps it and puts on a sleeper! He drags Tanahashi up the entrance ramp with the sleeper on. Tanahashi back elbows out and they trade chops on the ramp. Kick and Suzuki sets up for the Gotch piledriver on the ramp! Tanahashi barely fights it off and backdrops free. Suzuki charges and puts Tanahashi back down with a running kick, then hits some ground forearms. He rolls back in the ring and lounges, very much future Naito style, while Tanahashi crawls back to beat the count. As soon as he gets in Suzuki is back on him. Suzuki pulls Tanashashi around by the hair and hits headbutts. Cover for 2. Tanahashi tries to fire back with forearms that only amuse Suzuki. One of those classic straight Suzuki forearms puts Tanahashi back down. Tanahashi gets his boots up in the corner, hits a slap, and a springboard crossbody for 2. Flying forearm from Tanahashi. Setup slam and the second rope rolling senton hits for 2. He calls for a slingblade but Suzuki cuts it off with a dropkick. He soaks up the hatred from the crowd while stalking Tanahashi. Running kick in the corner. Snap mare and Suzuki hits a couple of PKs. He goes for a running one but Tanahashi blocks it and hits a low dropkick. It looks like Tanahashi has a little blood in his mouth. Suzuki goes back out to the floor. Tanahashi gets up top. Aces High to the floor! Tanahashi gets back in the ring whle Suzuki is flat laid out on the floor. He takes nearly the whole 20 count to get back in. When Tanahashi charges Suzuki grabs his arm on the apron and puts on the hanging armbar! More kicks to Tanahashi's chest with Suzuki clearly enjoying his work. Tanahashi grabs one and tries for a dragon screw. Suzuki blocks it into an armbar! Freaking nice. He stretches it out but Tanahashi fights it. He's eventually able to get a foot on the rope. Suzuki stomps Tanahashi down in the corner. Hard knees in the corner to Tanahashi's jaw. Red Shoes gets tossed aside so Suzuki can keep hitting them. He then wraps Tanahashi's arm around the bottom rope and cranks it. While he's doing that he bites and then licks the middle rope and I'm certain he's fully aroused at this point. Red Shoes hooks Suzuki's arm and literally walks him back across the ring. Suzuki charges for another running corner kick but Tanahashi dodges it. Crossbody into the corner! Tanahashi goes up top and hits Aces High. Right back up. HIGH FL.....NO Suzuki got his knees up! Suzuki lays into Tanahashi with open hand strikes, ducking all of Tanahashi's attempts to strike back. When Suzuki tries for the piledriver again Tanahashi quickly counters into a jackknife cover for 2. Straitjacket German from Tanahashi for 2. He goes for a slingblade again. Suzuki slides by and hooks on the sleeper! Tanahashi tries to flip Suzuki over to get free, but that only allows Suzuki to ground him with the sleeper on. Tanahashi starts to fade. You can feel the crowd starting to worry and doubt. When Tanahashi appears out Suzuki lets go and covers. Tanahashi kicks out! Running knee from Suzuki for 2. Suzuki ducks a punch and the sleeper is back on. Tanahashi fades down again, then manages to stand back up but he looks like dead weight. Suzuki spins him around for the Gotch piledriver. And hits it! Tanahashi kicks out! Damn, that was a very believable near fall. Suzuki tries to drag Tanahashi back up. Tanahashi ducks a swing and hits a dragon suplex! Falcon arrow slam from Tanahashi and another dragon suplex for 2. He goes up top. HIGH FLY FLOW! Suzuki kicks out! He will not die that easily. On knees forearm exchange as both guys are near spent. Straight headbutt from Suzuki that wobbles him too. More open hand strikes exchanged. Tanahashi connects with a paintbrush that wobbles Suzuki. He tries for slingblade but Suzuki dodges it again and tries for another sleeper. Tanahashi quicky escapes and hits a ripcord slingblade! Finally connected with one. Suzuki lays on the mat, spirit still willing to fight but body almost completley done. Tanahashi is up top again. High Fly Flow to Suzuk's back. Up top again. HIGH FLY FLOWWWWWWWWWWWWW! Tanahashi gets the pin to retain and set a new record with v11! After getting pinned Suzuki smiles while looking up at the lights. Rock solid Tokyo Dome main event, but it didn't have quite enough to be called an all time classic. I need to rewatch their IC title match from 2018, I remember liking that one even more than this one but haven't watched it since seeing it "live" (as live as I do anything from Japan). They also had a rematch later in this year in October that's very highly rated. ****1/4
 
After the match we get the usual certificate and trophy presentation, then Tanahashi is presented with the belt again. Those women do not want to hug sweaty Tanahashi. Before it can go any further Tanahashi is interrupted by.....KAZUCHIKA OKADA?! What in the blue hell is this young ass punk doing walking into the Ace's ring thinking he's ready for this? The crowd lets him know it too. Okada takes the mic and lays down the challenge. Tanahashi grabs the mic back and I sure hope he says something like "Who the hell are you again?". Still, the Ace is not one to back down from a challege, so we're on. Write in v12 now. There's no way in hell this barely out of the dojo punk is going to dethrone the freaking Ace, right? Right? Keep on reading after the show wrapup for more.
 
OVERALL SHOW THOUGHTS- As I've been saying for most of the matches tonight, pretty average. Overall you can't include this among the best Wrestle Kingdoms, even to this point, but it is historically important because it started the swift rise of the Rainmaker, one of the most important pieces in the coming golden age. This show is also when longtime All Japan supporter Dave Meltzer started to take notice of New Japan's uptick in both business and overall quality the past 4-5 years. Yeah, I know, I'm not a fan of his either, but he did have a platform to help people here in the US know what was happening and bring them to the product, as even in 2012 Japanese wrestling was still very difficult to access in the US.
OVERALL SHOW GRADE: C+ 
 
Bonus Match Review
From The New Beginning in Osaka '12 (2/12/12 from Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium)
"The Shocka in Osaka"
IWGP Heavyweight Championship: Kazuchika Okada (w/Gedo) (CHAOS) def Hiroshi Tanahashi (c) in 23:22- The official New Japan name for this match is "The Rainmaker Shock", but I've always preferred the Kevin Kelley coined moniker playing off boxing's "The Thrilla in Manilla". Since WK Okada has joined CHAOS and hired Gedo as his personal manager. He's also added purple to his hair. This match also has alternate English commentary that was recorded for the archives, this time from Kevin Kelley, with his usual masterful job of laying out the big picture perfectly. They get in each other's faces as soon as entrances are done before retiring to their corners again for in-ring intros. Silence spattered with boos for Okada on his official introduction. They go nose to nose and stare down again. Lockup and clean break. No, Okada taks a swing that Tanahashi ducks, opening the door for Tanahashi to get the first strikes in. He cranks the arm but Okada waffles him with a forearm, then cranks on a headlock. Big shoulderblock from Okada. Tanahashi gets a headlock takedown and cranks away on it. Okada tries whips to escape but Tanahashi keeps him in. Finally Okada gets free that way, only to have Tanahashi hit the brakes, drop down and put the headlock on again. Okada gets desperate and goes to a hair pull to get free. Tanahashi hits a forearm and a springboard crossbody. Another headlock takedown as Tanahashi is just taking the kid to school so far. Okada escapes again and this time hits a dropkick. He pounds Tanahashi on the ground with forearms. He goes for an early tombstone. Tanahashi escapes, hits a slam, and goes to the second rope for the senton. Okada pops up, hits an uppercut, and dropkicks Tanahashi out to the floor! Post shot for Tanahashi. He wraps Tanahashi's neck on the guardrail, kicks it, and rolls Tanahashi back in as the count hits 18. Back in he stays focused on Tanahashi's neck. Hangman's neckbreaker for 2. Backbreaker. Tanahashi dodges a senton follow up. Okada dodges a dropkick and hits a sliding dropkick for 2. More shots to Tanahashi's neck. Flapjack. He rolls Tanahashi over into a crucifix with a chinlock added, really punishing the neck. Tanahashi manages a rope break. Corner forearms fire Tanahashi up and we get a forearm exchange. Tanahashi dodges a corner running elbow and hits some chops. Flying forearm. Strike combo from Tanahashi. Okada responds with uppercuts. He tries to momentum toss Tanahashi over the top rope but Tanahashi skins the cat back in. Dragon screw! Okada goes out to the floor to shake it off. Tanahashi goes up top. Aces High to the floor! Coming back in Okada takes the dragon screw in the ropes! Reverse dragon screws on the mat. Tanahashi hooks on the cloverleaf. Okada almost gets to the ropes but Tanahashi cranks him back and practically sits on him. Another push and Okada gets a rope break. Red Shoes scoops up one of Tanahashi's teeth that got knocked out and was on the mat. There goes another one. I remember when Tanahashi had to wrestle without his front teeth replacement bridge for a while. You thought Benoit had missing teeth. Okada grabs Tanahashi and hits the tombstone! We get a great close up of Tanahashi's newly missing tooth. Okada wraps up Tanahashi's arms and puts on a cravat on the mat. He's got Tanahashi almost completely trapped, he can't even tap, only verbally submit. Tanahashi just barely backs up to get a boot on the rope. Okada sets up in the corner and charges. Tanahashi cuts him off with a dropkick to the knee. A sliding dropkick sends Okada to the floor. He goes for a canonball off the apron but Okada dodges and Tanahashi splats on the floor! A running kick sends Tanahashi over the barricade. Okada takes him out into the arena as Young Lion Bad Luck Fale tries to usher the crowd away. Okada hits a tombstone on the floor! It looks like Okada is willing to take the countout win (which would mean a title change in New Japan, though with the stigma of being considered a cheap win), but then he goes out to motionless Tanahashi again. He picks Tanahashi up and drags him back in the ring. Setup slam and Okada goes up top. The elbow drop hits. He pulls Tanahashi up to finish it. Tanahashi ducks a Rainmaker and hits a slingblade! Cover for 2. Straitjacket German for 2. Falcon arrow slam and Tanahashi goes up top. High Fly Flow to Okada's back. Up top again. HIGH FLY NO Okada got his knees up! Okada's doing a great job of still selling his knee even though that was a while ago. Okada blocks a kick and hits a high kick. Neckbreaker. DDT for a long 2. You can tell from the crowd reaction they're taking Okada seriously now. At least as a credible challenger, maybe not a winner. Rainmaker pose! Rainm...NO Tanahashi counters into a dragon suplex for a LONG 2! Okada dodges a slingblade. Conter series. RAINMAKER! He PLANTED Tanahashi with it! OKADA GETS THE PIN TO WIN THE TITLE! OSAKA IS SHOCKED! Barely a month back from a very bad excursion, Okada is on top in New Japan. The biggest upset in New Japan history, no matter how great Okada was after. Tanahashi's fifth reign ends at 404 days, the longest he will have and second longest ever at the time behind Hashimoto's 489, and the record v11 will stay there. By the time he was done Okada will have taken both of those records out. But this first reign of his will last just 125 days, the shortest of any reign of his, before Tanahashi won the title back at Dominion in June. The match was fantastic, aided by the usual great Osaka crowd (the rough Japan equivalent of Chicago in terms of wrestling crowds). The first true look at what Okada could really do in the ring, and great first chapter in one of the greatest rivalries in history. ****1/2

Popular Posts- Last 30 Days